Topic: How to test a fragrance's "Silage" ?

Sorry guys for this silly question!

I am still new to fragrance world.  Been obsessed with learning for about two years.  But didn't know what "Silage" meant!

I was asked yesterday of the silage of a fragrance I own she wants to buy.

How do I test that?  I looked up that it means how far away from you, that your fragrance can be smelled?

I am ebarassed to ask!  LOL! glad 

But how do you test that?  Do you stand in a room and ask someone in the house to gradually come closer until they can smell you?

I feel a little silly and rediculous!  But I want to help her out, and I really need to learn this.

Also in my job I am recently in, I sell fragrance now... which feeds my addiction of course.  But now I need to learn these terms if I am going to sell it.  I am a Beauty Department Mngr.  But I am the only one at my job who really knows about fragrance so I am on my own learning this.

Please HELP if you can!  ~ Thank you so much.  You all are sweethearts. http://www.fragrantica.com/board/img/smilies/26.gifhttp://www.fragrantica.com/board/img/smilies/30.gif

Re: How to test a fragrance's "Silage" ?

I RECENTLY READ IN AN ARTICLE IN ANOTHER PERFUME BLOG THAT YOU SPRAY YOUR PERFUME IN YOUR HAND AND KEEP IT IN A DISTANCE OF 10 INCHES AWAY FROM YOUR FACE. IF YOU CAN SMELL IT THEN IT HAS ADEQUATE SILLAGE IF NOT YOU SHOULDN'T SPEND MONEY ON IT.

I TRIED IT AND IT IS VALID MORE OR LESS AT LEAST IN THE PERFUMES I TESTED!

SORRY BUT THAT HTE ONLY TIP I CAN GIVE YOU!http://www.fragrantica.com/board/img/smilies/15.gif

I always ask my husband http://www.fragrantica.com/board/img/smilies/supermario.gif if I don't get much of the fragrance I am wearing. He is the most reliable test person ever!

Perfume lovers of the world, unite and take over!

Thank you so much! This helps! I guess I should find websites that teach about the terminology/ vocabulary of fragrance and how to learn this?